If your employer is subject to the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), he/she is required to pay a minimum wage of $7.25 per hour was effective July 24, 2009." Additionally, overtime of time and a half for any hours worked over forty during the workweek. Employers are subject to FLSA, if the enterprise has employees engaged in interstate commerce or in the production of goods for interstate commerce and generates annual gross volume of sales more than $500,000. Schools, hospitals and health care facilities, and public agencies are subject to FLSA. If you have questions about whether your employer is subject to FLSA, please contact the U.S. Department of Labor, Wage & Hour Division in Indianapolis at (317) 226-6801, or in South Bend at (574) 236-8331.
If your employer is not subject to FLSA, he/she is required to pay state minimum wage. The minimum wage in Indiana was $6.55 per hour in July 24, 2008. Minimun wage rose again to $7.25 per hour July 24, 2009. Indiana employers not subject to the FLSA (i.e. small business) must pay overtime of time and a half for any hours worked over forty during the work week.
For additional information, please contact the Indiana Department of Labor's Wage and Hour Division by email at firstname.lastname@example.org or phone (317) 232-2655.